Medical Society of Milwaukee County (MSMC) Award Categories
Health Care Champion Award

MSMC established this prestigious award to recognize individuals who demonstrate extraordinary leadership, vision and commitment to advance health care at the city, county and/or state level.

Community Impact Award

MSMC established this stellar award to recognize individuals who provide leadership in advancing a critical health care topic on behalf of our community such as homelessness, social determinants of health, access to healthy food and nutrition, and preventing prescription drug abuse.

Dr. Erastus B. Wolcott Distinguished Service Award

MSMC established this esteemed award to recognize physicians who carry on the distinguished legacy of MSMC’s founder, Dr. Erastus B. Wolcott, who is honored with a statue in Lake Park. As stated of Dr. Wolcott, the recipient is “Eminent in his/her profession. A lover of humanity. Who delights to serve.”

The deadline for nominations is September 20, 2019.  The winners will be notified in November. Questions may be directed to Kathy Schmitz, Executive Director, at or (414) 475-4750.

Nominations Open! Medical Society Milwaukee 2020 Leadership & Service Awards!

We need your help finding the next recipients of the prestigious Medical Society of Milwaukee Leadership & Service awards, to be presented on Saturday, March 7, 2020 at the Medical Society of Milwaukee Annual Awards Dinner.  Nominations are judged in four categories:  Health Care Champion, Community Impact, Distinguished Service, and Medical Student Leadership.  Nominations are open! The deadline for submissions is September 20, 2019.

Do you know a physician colleague, community leader, medical student deserving of recognition for their leadership and service?  If so, we’d like to know.

Please complete the following nomination form:


Dr. Erastus B. Wolcott Distinguished Service Award

  • 2019: Dr. Barbara Horner-Ibler, Bread of Healing Clinic
  • 2018: Dr. Nick Turkal, President & Chief Executive Officer, Aurora Health Care
  • 2017: Dr. Anne Martinelli, Ascension Health
  • 2016: Dr. John Raymond, Sr., President and CEO, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • 2015: Dr. Julie Schuller, President & CEO, Sixteenth Street Community Health Center and Past President Medical Society of Milwaukee County

Health Care Champion Award

  • 2019: Chris Abele, Milwaukee County Executive
  • 2018: Wisconsin State Rep. John Nygren
  • 2017: Bevan K. Baker, Health Commissioner, City of Milwaukee
  • 2016: Tom Barrett, Mayor, City of Milwaukee
  • 2015: Wisconsin Attorney General Brad Schimel
  • 2014: Joy Tapper, Executive Director, Milwaukee Healthcare Partnership Community Impact Award

Community Impact Award

  • 2019: Bob Burmeister, Mr. Bob’s Under the Bridge
  • 2018: Dr. Veronica Gunn, VP of Population Health, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
  • 2017: Dr. Michael McNett, Medical Director Chronic Pain Management, Aurora Health Care
  • 2016: Will Allen, Founder and CEO of Growing Power Inc.
  • 2015: Dr. Earnestine Willis, Director, Center for the Advancement of Underserved Children & Director of Health Equity and Urban Clinical Care Partnerships
  • 2014: Dr. Cynthia Haq, Professor of Family Medicine and Population Health Sciences at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Student Leader Award

  • 2019: Megan Cory
  • 2018: Stephanie Wong
  • 2017: Anupriya Dayal
  • 2016: Cecilia Jojola
  • 2015: Megan Beck
  • 2014: Neerja Josh
Medical Society of Milwaukee County
P.O. Box 13114, Milwaukee, WI 53213
Phone: (414) 475-4750

Site map | Contact