Capacity Crowd Honors Leadership in Action at
Medical Society 2017 Annual Awards Dinner

$10,000 Raised for Meta House!

Harley Davidson Museum, March 4th
Videos of our award winners:    Bevan K. Baker       Dr. Michael McNett       Dr. Anne Martinelli       Anupriya Dayal

Dear Medical Society of Milwaukee Members and Friends,

We’re thrilled to showcase photos and media coverage from our sold-out 2017 Annual Awards dinner this past weekend!  With special gratitude to our Presenting Sponsor – UnitedHealthcare – and all of our tremendous sponsors this year – we were able to honor award recipients Bevan K. Baker, Dr. Michael McNett, Dr. Anne Martinelli, and Anupriya Dayal. 
For those of you who attended - we hope you enjoyed hearing from our awardees who are advancing health care in our community through their leadership and service. Their efforts to address prescription drug abuse helps thousands of individuals in our community who are struggling with addiction to connect to much needed resources and have a second chance at life.

Local coverage from WISN-TV 12
Hear more about how one of our awardees is helping to keep people safe from prescription drug abuse.
With your help the silent auction and fundraising at the event raised $10,345 to support Meta House’s efforts to help women reclaim their lives from drug addiction. We’re very grateful to all of the local businesses, sports, entertainment, hospitality and restaurant venues for the generous contributions. Click here for a full listing.
Together, our work is positively impacting our community and saving lives. Thank you again to all of you for your support in making this event a success.

We extend our special thanks to Shannon Sims, News Anchor, Today’s TMJ-4, for serving as our event Master of Ceremonies!  Great job Shannon!!

Save the date for our 2018 Awards Dinner - Saturday, March 3 at the Milwaukee Public Zoo!

With gratitude,

Kathy Schmitz
Executive Director
Medical Society of Milwaukee County
Medical Society of Milwaukee Foundation
Phone: (414) 475-4750

Click here to download an event flyer

Congratulations to our Award Recipients

This year's award recipients are phenomenal individuals who have paved the way to positively advance health care in our community through their leadership and service.

Health Care Champion Award

Bevan K. Baker
Commissioner of Health
City of Milwaukee Health Department

It is our distinguished honor to present the Health Care Champion Award to Commissioner Bevan Baker for his leadership in establishing strong partnerships which promote the health and well-being of Milwaukee residents. Commissioner Baker shares the Medical Society of Milwaukee’s passion to lead on issues such as prescription drug safety, childhood immunizations, infant mortality/safe sleep, and healthy, safe neighborhoods. He is a thoughtful, inspirational leader who improves the quality of life for individuals and families in our community each and every day.

Community Impact Award

Dr. Michael McNett
Medical Director for Chronic Pain
Aurora Health Care

The Medical Society is extremely delighted to present the Community Impact Award to Dr. Michael McNett for his exemplary leadership in advancing knowledge, awareness, education and legislation around prescription drug safety both locally and at the State level. He is without question, an influential leader in his field, who with courage, passion, integrity and vision continually devotes himself to turning obstacles into opportunities.

Dr. Erastus B. Wolcott Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Anne Martinelli
St. Francis Hospital – Ascension

We are humbled to present this year’s Dr. Erastus B. Wolcott Distinguished Service Award to Dr. Anne Martinelli for her selfless commitment to the underserved, both here and abroad, as well as for her dedication to serving the homeless, victims and survivors of abuse, and vulnerable women and infants. Dr. Martinelli symbolizes servant leadership in standing up for those whose voices may not otherwise be heard. And, we care and compassion, and without hesitation, she services those who some may consider undesirable patients. Dr. Martinelli is a physician who leads by example.

Medical Student Leader Award

Anupriya Dayal
Medical College of Wisconsin

We are pleased to present the Medical Student Leader Award to Anupriya Dayal for demonstrating the breadth and depth of her academic career through the significant leadership role she served in collaborating with Dr. George “Chip” Morris on the 2016 Prescription Drug Take Back Day Community Survey, as well as for her ongoing engagement on the Wisconsin Medical Society Opioid Task Force. Anupriya is an inspirational leader who is, and will continue to improve the quality of life for individuals in our community.

Medical Society of Milwaukee County
P.O. Box 13114, Milwaukee, WI 53213
Phone: 920-560-5637

Site map | Contact